Specs sourced · prices dated

PreppedPower

How we rate

We compare manufacturer specifications and published third-party measurements. We do not conduct hands-on product tests.

Spec scores

Our provisional Spec score is out of 10, calculated within each capacity tier from the current catalogue. Models without a known, positive rated capacity receive no tier or score and are excluded from peer maximums. It is not a hands-on rating or a safety certification. The five factor weights are energy per dollar 30%, output and 240 V 25%, charging 15%, battery life 15%, and warranty and recall record 15%.

For each numeric input, points equal its weight multiplied by the model’s input divided by the largest known input in the same tier. Inputs and points are never compared across tiers. We sum the points, divide by 10 and round once to one decimal place. The peer count is shown beside each score.

  • Energy per dollar (30): rated Wh divided by the dated Amazon station-only price.
  • Output (25): continuous watts (15), surge watts (5), and 240 V capability (5 for supported, 0 for 120 V only). Boost watts do not count.
  • Charging (15): AC input watts (7.5) and solar input watts (7.5). Outlet and solar-voltage compatibility remain buying checks, not extra points.
  • Battery life (15): rated cycles scaled to an 80% endpoint, assuming linear fade: cycles × 20 ÷ (100 − retained-capacity percentage). This is a spec-comparison proxy, not a predicted service life or a claim that brand test protocols are identical. Both the count and endpoint must be known.
  • Warranty and recalls (15): published warranty duration (5), verified warranty terms (5) and dated recall research (5). Linked, dated terms earn 5 when they confirm the published duration, 0 when they contradict it. A dated CPSC and brand check earns 5 if there is no open, unremedied recall, 0 if there is one. Unchecked terms or recalls are withheld. Both are currently missing catalogue-wide, so those 10 points are withheld for every model.

Unknown inputs receive no points; we do not redistribute their weights. A numeric score appears only at 80% weighted input coverage or above. Below that, we show “Spec score: not yet” with the missing inputs and no number. Brand-vs and model-vs comparisons show scores only when both models qualify; otherwise neither score appears. Each score shows weighted data coverage and names the missing inputs. A low score can reflect incomplete research, not a poor product. An unchecked recall record is never treated as clean. All scores remain provisional while the terms and recall research are incomplete. Prices and catalogue changes can change scores; commissions never enter the calculation.

Where a figure comes from

  • BRAND: published by the manufacturer.
  • LAB: measured by a named independent source.
  • OWNERS: owner-reported, with its source and limitations.
  • CALC: arithmetic using the stated inputs.

What we read on a spec sheet

Brands print the numbers that look best. These are the ones we check, and the fine print we look for.

Rated capacity vs usable capacity

The watt-hours on the box are the battery's stored energy. Less than that reaches an AC outlet, because the inverter loses some converting DC to AC and the electronics draw power of their own. Jackery's own runtime formula takes off 15% for this (Jackery). We show rated Wh for every model and, where an independent tester has measured it, the measured figure in its own row (see Independent measurements below).

Chemistry and cycle rating

Current EcoFlow, Jackery, Anker SOLIX and Bluetti stations use LFP (lithium iron phosphate) cells. Older and some lighter units use NMC, which carries much lower cycle ratings: Jackery rates its original Explorer 1000 at 800 cycles to 80% and the LFP Explorer 1000 v2 at 4,000 cycles to 70% (Jackery).

A cycle rating means nothing without its end point. "4,000 cycles to 70%" is a weaker claim than "4,000 cycles to 80%", so we always print the percentage beside the count. When a brand leaves it out (Bluetti's AC180 page says "3500+ Cycles" with no threshold, Bluetti), we write "threshold not stated". Cycle counts are the brand's own lab figures; EcoFlow's page says its results are "based on our internal testing" (EcoFlow). We call them "rated", never "lasts".

Continuous, surge and boost output

Continuous output is what the inverter holds for as long as the battery lasts. Surge is a short burst for starting motors, such as a fridge compressor or a sump pump. Boost modes (EcoFlow X-Boost, Anker SurgePad, Bluetti Power Lifting) lower the voltage so a heating appliance draws less. They are not a bigger inverter, and they don't help motors or electronics (EcoFlow, Anker). We list the three figures in separate columns, never add them together, and only quote a boost figure as "resistive loads only".

UPS / EPS switchover

Most power stations are not true online UPS units. When the grid drops, they switch from pass-through to their own inverter, and the gap is the switchover time. Brands claim figures such as "<10 ms" (EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus) and "≤20 ms" (Jackery Explorer 1000 v2) (EcoFlow, Jackery). For a desktop PC, the power supply has to ride through that gap. The ATX 3.1 standard requires 12 ms of hold-up at full load (Seasonic), so a 20 ms switchover can reboot a heavily loaded PC. We print the claimed figure, or "not published". For a CPAP, check with the device maker or your clinician, as Anker's own guide advises (Anker).

Solar input

The spec that decides which panels work is the input voltage window, not just the watts. Panel voltage rises in the cold, so two panels in series that fit on a mild day can exceed the limit on a freezing morning (EC&M on NEC 690.7). Panels rarely deliver their label rating; NREL's PVWatts model starts from a 14% system loss (NREL). We show the brand's max solar watts and voltage range, and we treat "solar charge in X hours" claims as best case.

Expandability and 240 V

Extra batteries add watt-hours, not inverter watts. Every brand's expansion batteries are sold for its own series, so expanding later means staying with that brand. We list the maximum capacity the brand publishes and which batteries fit.

US homes are wired for 120/240 V. Most portable stations put out 120 V only, and a 240 V load such as many well pumps can't run on 120 V at any wattage. We mark 240 V output as yes or no.

Certifications, and who listed them

A safety listing means an accredited lab has certified the product to a named standard. For portable power stations the product standard is UL 2743. A stationary home battery system is covered by UL 9540; UL 9540A is a fire test method, not a certification (UL Code Authority, IAEI).

UL is not the only lab that can list to a UL standard. Any lab on OSHA's list of Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratories can, including Intertek, CSA Group, SGS North America and TÜV (OSHA). So we look for three things: the standard number, the lab, and a listing we can find in that lab's directory.

What we see on brand pages often falls short of that. A page might say "UL" with no standard number, list component standards instead of UL 2743, or describe a performance rating as a certification. We report it the way we found it:

  • Listed: "Listed to UL 2743 by [lab], checked [date]", when we found the listing.
  • Brand claim, not verified: when the brand states a standard but we could not confirm a listing.
  • Not stated: when the brand names no standard.

One more point from UL itself: several individually certified portable packs wired together into a home system do not make a certified (listed) system (UL Code Authority).

Independent measurements

No station delivers its full rated capacity at the outlet. When a lab has measured a model, we show the measured figure in its own row, beside the rated one. We never mix the two in one comparison.

ModelRatedMeasured ACUsable
EcoFlow DELTA Pro 34,096 Wh3,790 Wh93%
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 21,024 Wh890 Wh87%
Jackery Explorer 2000 v22,042 Wh1,710 Wh84%

Source: measured by OutdoorGearLab with a light-bulb load bank, page updated Jul 23, 2026. Low loads waste more, because the inverter's own draw is a bigger share.

Owner-measured figures. Some of the most useful numbers, such as how much a station draws with its AC outlets on and nothing plugged in, come from owners with a plug-in meter. When we use one, we tag it OWNERS, name where it was posted (for example, "owner-reported on DIY Solar Forum") and link the thread. We don't present owner reports as lab results, and we don't present anyone's measurement as our own.

Our runtime model

Runtime = rated Wh × efficiency ÷ (load W + inverter idle W). Below 200 W on AC, we use 85% efficiency and 15 W idle unless a measured model-specific idle figure is available. At 200–999 W, use 85% and no separate idle allowance. At 1,000 W and above, use 90%. Small DC/USB loads use 90% and no AC idle.

1. Start with rated capacity. 1,024 Wh
2. Allow for conversion losses. × 0.85 = 870 Wh
3. Add the load and inverter idle draw. 40 + 15 = 55 W
4. Divide usable estimate by total load. ≈ 15.8 h · calculated

An estimate from rated capacity, not a measured runtime. Temperature, battery age, settings and the real load change the result.

Cycling loads use rated Wh × efficiency ÷ daily Wh. Solar top-up uses the smaller of panel watts and the station’s input limit, multiplied by sun hours and 0.86. A surge check adds the largest starting load to all other running loads. Boost modes do not count for motors.

Prices

We check every price once a week. The date shows the last check. Prices come from the Amazon Creators API; each amount names the retailer and what is included. No date means no displayed price. Price per Wh uses rated capacity for every model in a comparison.

Recalls and warranty

Recall checks must name the source and check date. An unchecked record stays labelled “not checked yet.” A brand’s warranty duration does not establish its registration or retailer-specific extension terms.

How we make money

We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Read the affiliate disclosure.